Legend of the Seas Asian Cruise Day 3: Phuket, Thailand

Legend of the Seas in Phuket

We are now on our third day aboard the cruise ship Legend of the Seas. And among all our ship destinations, let me say that this was my favorite. We were off to none other than Phuket, Thailand! biggrin I guess for all beach lovers out there, Phuket is one of the must-see destinations. This was also my first time to visit Thailand so I was so excited to have a glimpse of this beautiful country. For Day 1 and 2 of our Asian Cruise please also check out Legend of the Seas Asian Cruise Day 1: Singapore and Legend of the Seas Asian Cruise Day 2:  Penang, Malaysia

Singapore to Phuket by ship

Our ship arrived in Phuket at 10am and it would stay in the island until 9pm. We had one day to roam around the island. I just couldn’t hold my excitement when I finally saw the island of Phuket. I just couldn’t wait to get off the ship biggrin. This time unlike in Penang, our ship was tendered in the sea. It means we needed to take small boats that would take us to the shore because the ship is too big to dock near the beach. Upon arrival, we saw another cruise ship, the Costa Romantica, also tendered in the sea. It also looks so big and beautiful.

We saw another cruise ship--the Costa Romantica

We took one of the organized tours of the ship again. This time we chose the Panoramic Tour that would take us around the city. We left the ship at around 11am and took a small boat that would take us to the shore. The ship will provide the boats for the guests.

Inside the boat that would take us to the shore

I watched the view as the boat took us farther and farther away from the ship and closer to the shore. After a few minutes, our boat already arrived near the shore. I was so glad to finally set foot in the island of Phuket. Upon arrival to the beach, we already saw a lot of people from tourists to vendors and tuktuk drivers. Though expected, I was still surprised to see the island highly commercialized. There were bunch of tourists everywhere mostly from western countries. There was a long line of tall hotel buildings at the beach front. You could see many tourists on their bikinis and trunks sun bathing in the beach. Actually, the beach was almost jampacked with tourists. I realized then, “Wow, Phuket is really a tourists’ magnet.”  How I wish our beautiful beaches in the Philippines could also attract as much tourists. Phuket became more popular after the island was used in Leonardo Di Caprio’s movie The Beach. And now, Bali, Indonesia is also becoming more popular after Julia Roberts’ Eat Pray Love. How I wish one Hollywood film would also feature one of our beaches in Philippines someday. biggrin

Welcome to Phuket!

Our ship anchored in the sea

Phuket, which is almost the size of Singapore, is Thailand’s largest island. It takes only one hour by plane from Bangkok to Phuket but it takes 12-14 hours if you wanna travel by bus. The region gets much of its income from tourism. We stayed at Patong Beach which is the main tourist resort in Phuket. It is also the center of the nightlife in Phuket. You can see lots of restaurants and disco bars especially along the main road. There are also lots of hawkers on the street where you can buy cheap and delicious Thai foods.

A hawker in Patong beach

Since we joined one of the organized tours of the ship, we were immediately fetched by our tour guide. We hopped on the bus to start our panoramic tour around the city. The ship has different kinds of organized tours such as island hopping (this tour will bring you to James Bond Island) and snorkeling. But we just chose the panoramic tour because it’s the most reasonable. biggrin We first went to a local shop to buy some pasalubongs then, we visited Chalong temple which is a popular Buddhist temple in Phuket. It is a beautiful temple so I’m going to write a separate entry for it.

Chalong Temple

We went back to Patong Beach after visiting Chalong Temple. It was a 30-minute ride from the temple to Patong so some tourists including my mom dozed off in the bus. And I, still trying to make the most out of every second of my trip, watched the view of the city from the bus window. I also tried to listen to our tour guide who seemed to have already memorized every words he said. I wonder how it feels to become a tour guide and repeat your words every now and then  biggrin We were so hungry when we arrived back in Patong beach. I was looking forward to try real Thai foods so we stopped by at a local restaurant near the beach.

One of restaurants near the beach

My first real Thai food🙂

One of the Filipino crew in the ship, suggested to us to try Thai massage in Phuket. According to him, it is very relaxing so my mom couldn’t wait to try it too. There were many Thais who offered Thai massage along the beach so we easily found one. My mom had a one-hour body massage for 300 baht (P439) while I strolled around to hunt for some Thai street foods mrgreen . I heard that most delicious Thai foods can be found along the street.

A Thai street food

Thai baht

Thai body massage for 300 baht (P439)

One kind-hearted tourist volunteered to take our picture together

After my mom’s Thai massage, it’s time for us to get back to the ship. We didn’t want to miss our dinner at Romeo and Juliet Restaurant biggrin. We took a small boat to bring us back to the ship. This tender boat was provided by the ship.

On the boat back to the ship

The ship waiting for us

Approaching the gigantic ship

When we arrived back to our cabin, our room attendant surprised us again with this baby elephant he made from our bathroom towels. I was reluctant to take a shower again because of this. hehe biggrin I didn’t want to destroy the arrangement.

A baby elephant waiting for us inside our cabin

After taking a rest and changing our clothes, we went to Romeo and Juliet Restaurant to have our dinner.

The menu for tonight

Our waiter from Turkey

After our dinner, we had our usual midnight snack at the solarium. While eating there I saw our Turkish waiter from Romeo and Juliet Restaurant. He was very friendly and he approached me. We had a long conversation about Turkey and about working in a cruise ship. And of course, I asked him one of the first things that come on my mind every time I hear the word Turkey. I said, “Do you know Yilmaz Bektas?” Then, he laughed and laughed. He said every Filipino guest asks him the same question and he’s really wondering why. I told him about Ruffa and all the stuff. Due to big media publicity before, I thought Yilmaz Bektas was popular, very rich and a member of some royal family in Turkey. However, he said that he doesn’t know him. He said he even asked his family back in Turkey but they really don’t know him. Hehe mrgreen Anyway, I really enjoyed chatting with him. He’s one of the crews in the ship who has been very friendly to us.

Well, this was our last night in Phuket and tomorrow the ship will cruise back to Singapore. How I wish this cruise would never end! Everyday on the ship is so much fun. You’ll never run out of activities to do. And even though, I stayed only a day in Phuket. I could say that this beautiful island is really worth visiting. I’m definitely coming back for more of Thailand. Hopefully, it will be Bangkok next time. I wanna explore every part of this beautiful country  biggrin

Check out: Legend of the Seas Asian Cruise Asian Cruise Day 1: Singapore

Legend of the Seas Asian Cruise Day 2: Malaysia

Legend of the Seas Asian Cruise Day 4: At Sea

17 comments on “Legend of the Seas Asian Cruise Day 3: Phuket, Thailand

  1. chyng says:

    i enjoyed this series, and someday Im gonna try this too!
    kelangan lang mind setting na walang masyadong tour on your own.. kinda bitin eh no? 1 day lang sa phuket.. well, our beaches are more outstanding. do you agree?😉

    aliw ako sa yilmaz story! di pala sya sikat at all..

    • Hello Chyng!🙂 Oo bitin talaga sya. Yun nga lang pag nasa cruise ka hindi mo masyadong ma-e-explore yung country. Ang perks lang nun makakadami ka ng country na mapupuntahan at maeenjoy mo talaga yung stay mo sa ship. I’m sure makapag-cruise ka din someday lalo na ngayon na Filipinos are also getting into cruising. Like dun sa ship 83 yung guests from Philippines kaya madami din kaming nakitang Filipino guests dun sa ship. 😀

      Natawa din ako tungkol dun kay Yilmaz. Akala ko pa naman prinsepe sya sa Turkey hehe. And I agree na mas maganda talaga yung mga beaches natin sa Pilipinas. I think mas maganda pa din ang boracay kaysa sa Phuket. Sayang nga lang na hindi sya ganun ka-popular like Phuket. I hope our beaches in the Phils would get the attention they deserve. Kaya nga pandi promote ako ng mga beach natin sa mga estudyante kong hapon. hehe.

      Thanks for stopping by Chyng!! 😀

  2. Cheftonio says:

    shucks.. you’re good at documenting your trip! I miss cruising… I’ve had 2 chances before but I haven’t started blogging that time pa. thanks for sharing. You tempted me to look for a cruise trip this year haha

    • Hi Cheftonio! Thanks for dropping by🙂 Buti ka pa nakapag-cruise na twice. How was your cruise? Sa Asia din ba kayo? Hay parang ayoko na ngang umalis dun sa ship nung last day ng cruise namin at parang gusto ko na din mag-apply ng work dun sa cruise ship. hehe.

      Naks naman🙂 I hope you can join a cruise again this year. I’ll be looking forward to read your entries🙂

  3. pinoy boy says:

    good trip, but i am not a fan of touristy beaches. gusto ko unti lang kami nasa beach! ha ha but i have to agree Philippine beaches are still better than Thailand beaches. Mas magaling lang talaga promotion dun!

    • True! Mas maganda pa din ang Boracay.🙂 Magaling lang talaga mag-promote ang Thailand. Lalo pang sumikat nung pinuntahan ni Leonardo di Caprio. hehe. Pero ang crowded nung Patong beach na pinuntahan namin halos mapuno na ng beach chairs yung shore.

  4. loydezra says:

    Before I read your blog I just knew I wanted to get in a cruise for my honeymoon, but now its like I’ve been there and just wanted to come back for more. This cruise should pay you for the many customers it will bring to the cruise org. Thank you again!

    • You’re welcome Loyd! Thank you also for leaving a comment. I really appreciate it🙂 I’m looking forward to read your own cruise experience in your site! I really hope matuloy yung cruise nyo. I’m sure it’s an experience you will always treasure🙂

  5. jills says:

    we’re sailing the same cruise nov. 28, 2011🙂 honeymoon! whats their rule when it comes to cocktails and alcoholic drinks or even soda? part ba ng bottomless freebies on board or we have to buy? thanks

    • Hi Jills! Thanks for stopping by🙂 I’m really glad to hear you will be cruising on the Legend of the Seas for your honeymoon! I truly believe that a cruise is a perfect honeymoon getaway. Honestly speaking, hanggang ngayon hindi pa din ako maka get-over sa cruise namin last November. Hehe. I really want to go on a cruise again in the future. About the alcoholic drinks such as cocktails and wines, unfortunately, they are not free so you have to pay for it. I’m not sure about the soda. But I remember one time while we were having our dinner at Romeo and Juliet restaurant, the waiter asked me if I wanna have a cup of coffee. Nag-yes naman ako kasi akala ko libre. Pero hindi pala:mrgreen: One cup of coffee costs around 6.61 USD (Php 280). They billed that on our onboard account.

      Pero yung coffee sa drinks section ng Windjammers Cafe libre lang yun. As far as I can remember, the only free bottomless drinks onboard are water, juice and lemonade. All the best sa cruise nyo Jills! Enjoy!🙂

  6. epic says:

    uy blogger, you’re a beauty. hoow much is that cruise?

  7. ilahblogs says:

    Hi! I don’t remember how it happened but I bumped into your blog on one of my searches online and it caught my attention. I’ve been planning to go to Thailand for so long and I still haven’t gone. I like how you document your trip.:-) I’m definitely picking up a few tips and ideas from it. Nice.

  8. janet says:

    hi lovely, nice to find your blog here..thanks for the tips !🙂 hope you can travel europe soon🙂

  9. jah says:

    thanks to your blog..u and ur mom are very pretty by the way!🙂 i can’t wait to experience this myself as well..this will be another dream that will come true ;0

  10. great post. patong really had changed drastically. No more umbrellas and massages. just pesky water sports sellers.

Leave a Comment

