Taiwan: Kenting Beach

If you are one of the folks who enjoy lounging on the beach and you’re staying in Taiwan, then you might consider visiting Kenting. It’s one of the popular beaches in Southern Taiwan. It’s a well-known destination for summer getaways. Kenting is located at the southern tip of Taiwan. This area is already near to Batanes. Last summer, my brother joined a marathon in Kenting so we all traveled all the way from Kaohsiung City to Kenting for a 2-day vacation. It took us 2 hours and a half from Kaohsiung to Kenting by car.

Taiwan Map--Kenting at the southern tip of Taiwan

What to Do in Kenting:

1) Have fun at the beach. If you’re in Taiwan and you just wish to splash on the beach, then I guess, Kenting is already a good place to visit. Moreover, I love the atmosphere in Kenting. The place seems so serene and relaxing. I recommend this place if you want to take a  break from the buzzing city of Kaohsiung and Taipei. You can enjoy water sports and scuba diving on the beach.

My nieces playing on the shore

My nephew trying to break into the sand castle (fortunately, my brother was able to stop him before he did lol)

My niece and nephew

My sister-in-law and I hiding from the scorching heat of the sun

2) Enjoy the picturesque rocky shores. I considered this as the best part of my trip to Kenting. These rocky shores are really worth visiting. It made me feel like I was at some part of Europe.

Feels like I'm on top of the world

I love the view!

3) Visit the National Museum of Marine Biology and Aquarium. This is a big aquarium that contains marine exhibitions. Unfortunately, we were not able to visit this aquarium but my brother said that it’s one of the popular tourist spots in Kenting. I searched for some pictures from the net to give you a glimpse of this aquarium.

Kenting Aquarium (Got the pic from http://www.michaelturton.com)

The Big Aquarium (got the pic from http://www.tripadvisor.com)

4) Ride a bicycle around the town. As I’ve said, I love the atmosphere in Kenting because it seems so serene and relaxing. Try to ride  a bike around the town and enjoy the ocean breeze. My niece and I borrowed a bicycle from the hotel where we stayed and rode the bicycle around the town. Actually, it was quite an extraordinary type of bicycle. It’s like two bicycles combined into one. One thing that amazed me about Taiwan is that you could find different types of bicycles in the country. Well, I didn’t have the picture of the bicycle so I just tried to look over net.

This was the type of bicycle that my niece and I used. It was really fun. You should try this in Taiwan (got the pic from http://www1.cs.columbia.edu)

Our hotel in Kenting

5) Go to the night market. And of course, don’t ever leave Kenting without dropping by at their night market. The night market is one of the best ways to experience the night life in Taiwan. It is where you could taste the local delicacies for a cheap price. Moreover, you could buy lots of pasalubong at the night market. So dropped by at the night market and eat until you drop!

Who wants some colorful shades?

The busy night market

My niece drinking buko juice

Wow frog eggs???

How to go to Kenting:

Check out this page from wikitravel: http://wikitravel.org/en/Kenting

5 comments on “Taiwan: Kenting Beach

  1. Meaghan says:

    Love Kenting! Can’t wait to go back in a week! I have been dreaming of it for the past year… Thanks for the post, it got me in the mood for my trip to Taiwan.

    • Hi Meaghan! Thanks for stopping by🙂 Kenting is indeed a wonderful place to visit. It’s a good place to relax and enjoy the sea breeze. I’m really happy to hear you’re going to Taiwan. I really miss Taiwan. Enjoy your trip and the Taiwanese foods! 🙂

  2. pearl says:

    hi! do you happen to know the name of the beach that you went to in kenting? i read other reviews elsewhere that mentioned that the most popular beach at kenting was also very dirty! thanks!

    • Hello Pearl! The name of the beach is Nanwan Beach in Kenting. The beach was pretty okay if you just wanna hangout in a beach for a while. But I’ve only visited Kenting once so I’m not sure about other beaches in Kenting. But I really had a good time in Kenting. I loved the place🙂 I hope you’ll also enjoy your trip to Kenting! Have a safe trip and thanks for stopping by Pearl! 🙂

  3. taiwan says:

    Hi, Neat post. There’s an issue with your web site in internet explorer, might check this? IE nonetheless is the market leader and a huge element of other people will leave out your great writing due to this problem.

Leave a Comment

