Cambodia and Vietnam: Budget

Here’s the list of our expenses in our 7 days and 6 nights trip to  Cambodia and Vietnam (we stayed 4 days in Cambodia and 3 days in Vietnam):

Cebu Pacific round-trip ticket promo fare  (Manila-Ho Chi Minh City) P4,300        (96 USD) per person

Saigon-Phnom Penh- Siem Reap Package tour:4 days and 3 nights (inclusive of hotels, meals-breakfast lunch dinner, bus, tour guides and entrance fees)   P8,190  (182 USD) per person

One-day Mekong Delta Tour (inclusive of lunch) P525 (11 USD) per person

1/2 day Cu Chi Tunnels and 1/2 day City Tour (exclusive of lunch and entrance fees)   P360 (8 USD) per person

Cu Chi Tunnels entrance fee   P168 (3.75 USD) per person

War Remnants Museum entrance fee P33 (0.75 USD) per person

Reunification Hall entrance fee P33 (0.75 USD) per person

Hotel private room for 3 nights P1,800 (40 USD) for two people

Total amount:   P15,409  (342 USD) (It’s exclusive of the pocket money for souvenirs and pasalubong and our foods in Vietnam. Our foods in Cambodia were covered in our package tour so we only spent money for our foods in Vietnam.)

The pocket money that you need to bring depends on your budget. There are a lot of restaurants in Vietnam.   You could opt to eat in  fast foods (there’s a Jollibee in Vietnam🙂 ) and cheap food stalls. So I guess, the pocket money depends on how many pasalubong you want to buy and where you prefer to eat.

Useful links:  Sinh Tourist (formerly known as Sinh cafe) website  http://www.thesinhtourist.vn (You could check  the complete itinerary of the tours in their website)

*Take note that prices may change depending on rate and season

Feel free to send me a message if you have any questions  :-)

27 comments on “Cambodia and Vietnam: Budget

  1. chyng says:

    very well documented. surely you and your mom had a great time. sulit yung very loooong travel. hehe

    may restoration pa din pala sa angkor auntil now, panira ng ivew…

    • Thanks for the comment Chyng! 🙂 We really enjoyed our trip to Vietnam and Cambodia. Ang sarap ulit bumalik. Oo nga, panira talaga ng view yung restoration ng temples. You also have a very informative blog. I enjoyed reading it! 🙂

  2. chyng says:

    is your name lovely? bagay sayo. Ü

    hhmm, as i said in my blog, im a point and shoot user before. pero di nya kaya yung night shots at soft portrait shots.

    sample ng point and shoot:
    http://riandrew.blogspot.com/2009/12/mtpinatubo-trekking-easy-way.html
    pero pansin mo, daytime yan so you cant go wrong sa lightning.

    sample ng DSLR shots (lowlights)
    http://riandrew.blogspot.com/2010/10/finale-siam-ocean-world-baiyoke-skyline.html
    yan di na kaya pag P&S lang.

    i think after your cambodia-vietnam trip madami ka pang upcoming travels. dslr is a good investment. lalo kang gaganda sa pics mo.😉

    • Thank you so much sa advice! I really appreciate it🙂 Oo, Lovely yung real name ko. Hehe. Ang ganda nung mga pictures mo lalo na yung night shot mo sa skyline ng Bangkok. Nagulat ako, ganun na pala kaunlad sa Bangkok. Gusto ko na rin bumili ng DSLR. Kelangan ko nang mag-ipon. Hehe. Thanks talaga sa advice and nice meeting you! 🙂

  3. chyng says:

    you’re welcome!
    let me know pag may BKK entry ka na😉

  4. Rianne says:

    Hi,

    I found your blog through Pinoyexchange. My mom and I are going to Vietnam-Cambodia this February.

    I’ll be using your entries as a guide for our trip. I was thinking of booking the Sihn Tourist package as well, since I don’t want to hassle my mom too much. (Personally, I would go DIY and backpacking but I don’t think my mom could handle it). I tried booking through Sihn Tourist’s website but I couldn’t manage the booking part.

  5. Rianne says:

    how were you able to book your tour btw? I’m really interested but I can’t figure out how to book in Sihn Tourist’s website.

    • Hello Rianne! Thanks for dropping by! Well, I guess, if you don’t want to hassle your mom then joining a package tour would be a good decision. I joined the package tour for the same reasons. I was with my mom who is in her mid-fifties and it was both our first time to go to Vietnam. I knew then that it would be convenient for both of us to join a group tour. Anyway, we were really satisfied with Sinh Tourist and the package was really worth the price that we paid.

      As for booking the tour, you could book the tour on their website as least 3 days before the start of the tour. Then, Sinh Tourist will send you an email and you will need to fill out the form to pay the tour by credit card. You could also book the tour at their office in Ho Chi Minh City and pay it by cash or credit card (they do accept credit card at their office). You could book the tour at their office at least one day before the tour starts. Take note that the Saigon-Phnom Penh- Siem Reap package tour departs every Thursday.

      As for me, I booked the tour one day before going to Vietnam by calling their office. After that, the travel agent sent me an email so that I could pay the tour by credit card. We arrived in Vietnam exactly Thursday around 12:30am and the call time at the Sinh Tourist office was 6:00am.

      All the best to your trip to Vietnam and Cambodia! I’m sure you and your mom will have a wonderful time. I love Vietnam and Cambodia and I really want to go back there someday.🙂 Feel free to send me a message me if you have other questions.

  6. Nice post and great site! Very informative… By the way, have you tried to eat those insects that they sell in the market? =)

  7. beng says:

    Hi!
    i’ve read some info you posted @ pinoy exchange… my mom and i are planning for a hcmc-cambodia travel 4 5days… meron bang bus from hcm to cambodia and back to hcm? thanks

  8. Hello Beng! 🙂 I’m glad to hear you are going to Cambodia and Vietnam with your mom. These countries have a very interesting culture and history. There are a lot of bus companies that travel from Ho Chi Minh City to Cambodia. You can go directly to Siem Reap or you can stop by at Phnom Penh for a night then proceed to Siem Reap the next day. For the bus schedules please check out this link that I saw online http://www.canbypublications.com/cambodia/buses.htm Feel free to leave a comment if you have other questions. Thanks for dropping by and enjoy your trip! 🙂

  9. Rianne says:

    Hi Lovely,

    I never got to properly thank you for helping me out in my Vietnam-Cambodia trip with my mom. I definitely enjoyed our trip, although there were some hitches along the way. Nonetheless, I didn’t regret getting the Sinh Tourist tour package. I met so many wonderful people and got to experience two countries at once. Thanks and hope you have more travels to come.

    • Lovely says:

      Hello Rianne! You’re welcome🙂 I’m glad to hear that you and your mom had a good time in Vietnam and Cambodia. Indeed, one of the benefits of traveling is meeting wonderful people all around the globe. I really miss Vietnam and Cambodia. Thanks for telling me about your trip! Keep on exploring🙂

  10. evankristine says:

    Hi! This budget summary sounds great! I didn’t expect it to be so cheap traveling around Asia! I must follow this kind of procedure once I visit motherland, and also its neighboring countries. Thanks for this tip! E.

  11. looking for cambodia blogs and found yours very helpful! sa feb na trip namin ngayon palang ako naghahanap. thanks dito!!😀

  12. elmer says:

    hi me & my wife is planning to have a vietnam-cambodia tour but most of the tour packages from the travel agencies were much expensive, what can you suggest for us to cut down our budget? & what are he nice places to go? thanks much

  13. Bea says:

    hi, what about halong bay, did you go to hanoi?

  14. visa vietnam says:

    If you wish for to take much from this paragraph then
    you have to apply such techniques to your won website.

  15. Rea castro says:

    Hello, ganda ng article mo. Jan namin gusto pumunta ng barkad ako next year. Travel package ba yung vietnam and cambodia nyo or kya naman na kami kami lang? Sang travel agency ka if ever?

  16. ma.regina llanto says:

    hi can you email the price and contact number for this tour package on january 2014 in this email”: llantomariaregina@yahoo.com thank you🙂

  17. Jacqui says:

    thanks to the info. will be travelling alone, next year to Cambodia, Like Ms. Ma.regina’s request, can you send me same contact numbers at jacquivalinton@yahoo.com.ph? thanks!

  18. enerito says:

    Mam Lovely , Good Day, me and my family were planning to do the viet and cambodia tour, I just wanna ask did you enroll in to a tour package on this tour of viet and cambodia.. can you help me have the contact email address of the person you contacted so i can arrange also ours… I appreciate if you can help us God Bless… my email address is… enerito_ella@yahoo.com

  19. Frel says:

    Hi Lovely,

    Will be at hochiminh-phompenh-siemreap by September. I found your blog very informative and would like to follow the same tour except that we will depart directly from siem reap on last day. I sent a request at sihntourist for a customized tour but havent got the response yet. Is there any other way i could get to them? Thanks

  20. Berna says:

    Hi..I love your informative blog…im travelling alone to vietnam and cambodia ds coming dec6-11. Can you still recall the contact # s of your tour guide?please sen me an email: duitesb@yahoo.com.
    Is joining a group tour possible?hoping to hear from you soonest…thank you

Leave a Comment

